The Occupational Safety and Accident Prevention Committee provides direct employee involvement in the ongoing implementation of the District’s comprehensive safety and accident prevention programs.

Basis for Establishment

The committee reviews and makes recommendations for education and training in:

  • Safety awareness
  • Safety programs
  • Accident and “Near Miss” reports
  • Safety walk-throughs and inspections
  • Industrial Hygiene Programs

Committee Type

The Occupational Safety and Accident Prevention Committee is a standing committee that is approved to do specific work over time, it does not dissolve.  Committee terms are for two years. If you are interested in serving on this committee contact Denise Suess, Risk Management Coordinator at 676-6522.

Meeting Information

The committee meets the second Tuesday of the month beginning in September.   All meetings take place in the training room at the transportation facility on James Street.   

Minutes 9-22-15

Minutes 11-3-15

Minutes 1-12-16

Minutes 3-8-16

Minutes 5-24-16

Minutes 9-27-16

Minutes 11-8-16

Minutes 3-21-17

Minutes 5-16-17

Committee Members

Central Office Representatives:

  • Denise Suess, Risk Management
  • Kathryn Weilage, Director of Business Services
  • Jonah Stinson, Director, School Safety and Emergency Management
  • Jessica Sankey, Director, Wellness

Program Managers or designees:

  • Kim Remsing, Transportation
  • Evan Schmitt, Maintenance

Program Representatives:

  • Maudetta McGovern, Custodian
  • Rebecca Sauter, Paraeducator, Intervention Team
  • Tobi Melton, School Nurse
  • Donna Bunch, Special Education Secretary

Building Representatives:

  • Sonia Harder, Paraeducator/LPN
  • Mona Aarstol, Secretary
  • Nancy Sefrit, Food Service Lead
  • Alex Brede, Elementary Teacher
  • Kris Carpenter, Elementary Teacher
  • Summer Stoner, Middle School Teacher
  • Keri Lester, High School Special Education Teacher