• Develop criteria and process for selection of districtwide staff and community partners annual Promise Awards and revise, if necessary.
  • Propose districtwide staff and community partners annual Promise Award recipients to the superintendent.

Committee Type:

  • The Promise Awards Advisory Group is approved to do specific annual work.


  • Each spring, the Promise Awards Advisory Group meets to set criteria for the annual Promise Awards and score nominees.

Committee Members:

  • Sam Stapleton-Cousens, Bellingham Family Partnership Program Kindergarten Teacher
  • Alexa Nigretto, Cordata Elementary School Kindergarten Teacher
  • Laura Murdzia, Happy Valley Elementary School Administrative Assistant
  • Wendy Albrecht, Parkview Elementary Paraeducator, Special Education
  • Melissa Peterson, Roosevelt Elementary School Title I Reading Teacher
  • Robin Russell, Roosevelt Elementary School Resource Teacher
  • Jessica Finstuen, Fairhaven Middle School Special Education Resource Room Teacher
  • Meagan Dawson, Kulshan Middle School Principal
  • Lori French, Bellingham High School Spanish Teacher
  • Linda Short, Bellingham High School Choir Teacher
  • Ronni Weston, Options High School Special Education Teacher
  • Byron Gerard, Options High School Principal
  • Kim Kirk, Sehome High School Social Studies Teacher
  • Kristin Cerenzia, Sehome High School Athletics/Activities Administrative Assistant
  • Jeff Tetrick, Director of Career and Technical Education
  • Isabel Meaker, Executive Director of Family Engagement
  • Veronica Douglas, Volunteer Representative
  • Elie Samuel, Community Member Representative
  • Advisory Group Chair, Jacqueline Brawley




Promise Awards Information Page