• To guide the development of a district plan for the re-opening of schools in the fall 2020. This includes both the instructional and operational aspects.

Basis for Establishment:

  • Schools closed on March 15, 2020 to slow the spread of COVID-19. In order to reopen our schools, we need to re-imagine the way we teach, learn, work and engage in order to prioritize safety.
  • We want to be prepared for a variety of options next school year, including a remote reopen, a partial in-person reopen schedule and intermittent closures, which may occur due to health concerns.
  • Members will be appointed.

Decision-Making Process:

  • The reopening schools advisory committee will be an advisory body to the superintendent and executive team.

Plan of Work:

  • Engage with experts and emerging research, models and best practices to reopen public institutions, especially PreK-12 schools and higher education institutions.
  • Provide feedback to work teams as they determine needs, opportunities, challenges and conditions for reopening.
  • Advise and review feedback from a variety of stakeholders, including staff, students, families, community members, local partner organizations and health officials.


  • Executive Director of Teaching and Learning Kristi Dominguez, co-chair
  • Executive Director of Operations Jessica Sankey, co-chair
  • Department of Teaching and Learning representatives: Deputy Superintendent Mike Copland, Assistant Superintendent Steve Clarke, Director of Special Education Mike Haberman, Director Amy Carder, Director Trina Hall, Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA) Rey Ramos
  • School administrators Sonia Bell, Matt Whitten, Ari Feeney, Tom Gresham
  • Certificated teachers Sarah Rose, Ronni Weston, James Walsh, Shirley Prichard, Nic Castona, Jeff Nyman
  • Paraeducator Karanbir Deol
  • School nurse Alyssa Johnson
  • Safety and wellness program specialist Nyla Thursday
  • Front office staff: registrar Robin Montague, elementary principal administrative assistant Gladys Serrano
  • Bellingham Education Association (BEA) president Lisa Peterson
  • Bellingham Association of School Employees (BASE) president Rebecca Sauter
  • Parent Advisory Committee representatives Jami Pitman and Samantha Dang
  • Student Advisory Committee representatives Nigel Naylor and Serene Salam
  • Whatcom County Health Department representative Laurette Rasmussen
  • Bellingham medical community representative Dr. Sara Mostad
  • Opportunity Council representative David Webster
  • YMCA representative Shannon Millican
  • Director of Transportation Rae Anne Thon
  • Director of Food Services Patrick Durgan
  • Director of Building and Grounds Mike Anderson
  • Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Bob Kuehl
  • Executive Director of Communications and Community Relations Jackie Brawley
  • Executive Director of Educational Technology Kurt Gazow
  • Executive Director of Family Engagement Isabel Meaker


  • Serve until committee is no longer needed, which may be six months or longer.
  • Serve on or engage with work groups as assigned.
  • Commit to meetings and be an active participant according to group norms.


Budget Implications: None anticipated.